Great Horned Owl

Great horned owl calls are divided into three main categories: hoots, chitters, and squawks.

Great horned owl calls can be further subdivided into five types of hoots, four types of chitters, and five types of squawks based on inflection, number of syllables, duration, pitch, volume, and behavioral context.

Two types of non-vocal communication are also distinguished: hisses and bill clacking.

Image | ©️ Tim Lumley, Some Rights Reserved, (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)
Sources | (Baumgartner, 1983; Kinstler, 2009)

Learn More About the Great Horned Owl


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.